A Family Affair

I’m happy to announce to the world that the person who taught me to crochet was none other than my Gram Nash. I was just a wee girl and I thought the little frilly dresses she made for those once ubiquitous toilet paper holder dolls was the best thing ever. I wanted to do it too and my Gram showed me how.

I played around with crochet for a few years… into my preteens and even tried to teach myself how to knit. I was so proud when I finally learned how to do stockinette properly (Hey! Purling is HARD darn it!). But of course, as happens with so many of us I let go of it to pursue other things – bands and boys being chief among them. Still, if I picked up a hook, I knew I could always rely on my Gram, even though she’s a lefty and I have to reverse everything to get it right, to see me through any snarls.

Now cut to a few years later (no, I will not tell you exactly how many…) and I’ve once again picked up a hook. When I showed my Gram the project that I was working on her eyes sort of started to get a certain gleam… so I asked, casually, if she wanted to work on some projects together and she agreed! So we’re off tomorrow to go drool over yarn and hopefully pick out something cool… because you can never have enough yarn, right? I mean, a day of yarn stashing, working the craft, and hanging with your Grammy… what more do you need?

Leave a Reply

