Cardi! … and some scarves too…

So, I’ve been neglecting my blog duties.

I can admit it.

In my defense I’ve actually been working on a couple of projects.

millie cardigan

First is The Millie Cardigan from Vintage Crochet by Susan Cropper . The pattern is by Alicia Paulson, and it’s worked from the yoke down, which is SUPER easy! It’s all single and double crochet. I’ve decided to use ribbon instead of fabric strips for the ties and I’m going to make “toggle” closures with the ribbon and decorative buttons isntead of just having it tie to close. I may also crochet some flowers and vines on it too. I really want to make it up special as it’s a gift for my friend Jen. It is the LATEST birthday present ever… she probably won’t actually get the sweater til sometime in August. Her birthday was in February. Oy.

Scarf pattern from Interweave Crochet Winter 2008.

Scarf pattern from Interweave Crochet Winter 2008.

Second, is a scarf project from my completely abused Winter 2008 issue of Interweave Crochet. It’s called Mitered Squares and it’s by a designer named Annette Petavy. The pattern is single crochet in the front loop only with a regular decrease in the center of each row. The name of the pattern pretty much says it all. Anyway, with a little counting and a stitch marker, this scarf works up in no time.

For the Mitered Squares project I’m using Jo-Ann Fabrics Debbie Mumm Traditions in Purple,  instead of the recommended yarn(South West Trading Company Karaoke). The Debbie Mumm isn’t very thick so I used a size G hook instead of a K hook (as recommended). I’m not having any problems working it up. 

I’d like to try using these mitered squares for a blanket. I actually think the Traditions yarn would work up nice. I’m so in love with variagated yarn right now! But that is also another post.

Leave a Reply

