Sandy Craftalong

I don’t make a lot of money… I’m pretty much still a retail drone and I’m lucky when I get to treat myself to a little something, something. Sometimes, even when I really want to, I’m hard pressed to come up with a few extra dollars to donate to worthy causes. Still, I felt really strongly that I should try to donate something, anything that could help my fellow Americans hit by tropical storm Sandy.

While I was surfing twitter links, I came across this great idea from Natalie Soud and Brett Bara to make warm knit, crochet, or sewn items like socks, hats, scarves, gloves/mittens, and blankets to help Sandy victims get through this tough time of no power or heat. I’ve never really participated in something like this but I wanted to contribute somehow. So, I’ve started a cowl (because I’m not a decent enough knitter to do hats and gloves yet and a full fledged scarf would take to long for my novice hands to create).

So, a free Lion Brand cowl pattern and some Cascade 220 that I have had for a while and never used is being knitted up for someone in need back East. I’m so happy to be doing something for someone besides myself for a change and I truly hope my finished knitted contribution will make a person”s life just a little bit warmer this winter. If you’re a crafter and would like to contribute, check out Manhattan Craft Room or A Dose of the Delightful blogs to see all the details about where you should send your completed projects and how to share the word on Twitter and Facebook.

2 thoughts on “Sandy Craftalong

  1. Melanie

    This is a very good idea! Our church, Absecon UMC, has a Faithful Fingers ministry based on the Prayer Shawl Ministry. Right now we’re replenishing our supply of baby blankets, hats, scarves, shawls, etc. since we gave everything to the Sandy victims. We’re 7 miles west of Atlantic City, NJ. Anyway, glad you posted this info. BTW, I love Lion Brand, homespun is my favorite. I haven’t made a cowl yet but here’s a link to my favorite shawl pattern: http://www.lionbrand.com/patterns/chs-triangleShawl.html
    Take care,
    Melanie

Leave a comment