A More Perfect Bath

Bathrooms. Can’t live with them, can’t live without them.

OK, that may be a little harsh but no other room in a house (with the possible exception of the laundry room) is so purely devoted to function. Many people renovate their whole house and leave the bath for last or don’t do it at all. For my part, I’m just not a fan of bathrooms. But lately, I keep seeing some wonderful examples of beautiful and functional bathrooms that are making me change my mind about the worthiness of renovating/redecorating them.

I’ve discovered that I like a clean, uncluttered look: lots of gray and white, minimal furnishings, with interesting details… nothing too fussy or frou.

Two examples of my favorite bathroom layout:

image

Fixtures and fittings all down one side, dark floors, white walls, an uncovered window and a glass short enclosure instead of a tub.

I love gray and white bath schemes:

image

The master bath in Ellen Rakieten’s Chicago home. Designed by Nate Berkus and Anne Coyle. Picture from Elle Decor.

image
A rustic, industrial look prevails in the bath on the left, refined elegance rules in the bath on the right. I like elements of both looks. (sources unknown)

Some bath elements I love:

image
Clockwise from top left: Natural stone vessel sink, Pegasus – $380, ‘Chantilly Vines’ mirror, Anthropologie – $128, ‘Perpetual Blooms’ towels, Anthropologie – $9-$62, ‘Strut’ medium table, Blu Dot – $699, ‘Tex-Tile’ in Cotton (12″x24″), Emser Tile – $8/sq ft, ‘Henry’ bath fittings, Waterworks – price varies by finish.

I’d love to have a sleek, elegant gray and white bath someday. In the meantime, I’ll keep dreaming! What are your favorite bath styles/color schemes?

Leave a comment